The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

Did you know that you can do DofE with the Club? You’ll be able to put what you’ve learned with CCY to good use – and get a nationally recognised qualification too.

Club member Hannah Patrick has become the first person to achieve the DofE Gold Award through the Club. See what she had to say below.

If your child would like to take part, they'll need to complete four sections (five at Gold level): Volunteering, Physical, Skills and Expedition.  The fifth section for Gold is a Residential.

The DofE Award is fantastic and has given me so many great experiences like sailing in the English Channel and even looking after elephants in Sri Lanka, which was part of my Gold Award.  It is something that helps you develop as a person and tells future employers something about you that no other qualification can - it really makes you stand out. 

Doing a Duke of Edinburgh programme is one of the nation’s most recognised achievements. It is broken down into three progressive levels leading to Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh Awards and consists of four sections (five at Gold level). These include:

  • VolunteeringHannah Patrick DofE
    Help at a local DA or become a CCY leader
  • Physical
    CCY offers a whole range of sports that you can be involved in, from netball to kayaking
  • Skills
    Put into practice everything you’ve learned from CCY or try something new, whether it be cooking, map reading or photography
  • Expedition
    Plan and carry out an overnight expedition for a set number of days
  • Residential (Gold only)
    Undertake a shared activity in a residential setting away from home for 5 days and 4 nights

 Check out this video about the kind of things you can do as part of DofE.




If you think this is something you would like to be involved in and you’re over the age of 14, get in touch with our National DofE Administrator or find out more about The Duke of Edinburgh Award here.