Leg 1: Ravenglass to Keswick on the National Cycle Network

Ravenglass to Keswick

RavenglassThe first day of your tour will see you travel north east across the Lake District, from Ravenglass in the western tip of the Lakes, to Keswick in the north. There will be around five hours of cycling on the first day, with 39 miles to cover.

This leg of the tour takes you through some beautiful areas of the Lake District; with cycling past the Lake at Loweswater being a particular highlight. Some of the cycling during this tour is quite steep, so you may want to set off early to give yourself time to have plenty of rest breaks.

Another highlight of the tour is the Whinlatter Forest Park Visitor Centre, which you will pass through towards the end of the tour. The Visitor Centre is home to lots of walking trails, an adventure playground, a forest shop and exhibition and Siskins Cafe.

KeswickThere are opportunities to stop for food on the trail, with some pubs marked on the route and a choice of cafes and restaurants in Braithwaite towards the end of the tour.

Full step-by-step instructions of the route can be downloaded below, and the map below illustrates the route you will be taking on the first day of your holiday.

Sustrans National Cycle Network

If you're a cycle commuter, a leisure walker or a long-distance bike tourer, join the million plus people that love using Sustrans' well-signed National Cycle Network every single day. Spanning the UK, the Network's 13,400 miles of walking and cycling routes include traffic-free paths, quiet roads and lanes, and themed long-distance routes. It's co-ordinated by Sustrans, the charity that's enabling people to travel by foot, bike and public transport for more of the journeys we make every day.

We can help you to extend your cycle tour and explore every corner of the UK by bike with our wide range of maps and guidebooks.

Browse our map selection


Adobe PDF ravenglass to keswick
download Adobe Acrobat Reader